Resolutions

I was thinking about the whole idea of resolutions. I’ve been telling people I don’t make resolutions any more because I always break them by February or March. However, this runs counterintuitively to my philosophy as a Stress Coach that goals are crucial in making any kind of a gain. So, what’s the difference between a goal and a resolution? Perhaps it’s that resolutions are born of societal or peer pressure whereas goals are created from passion and a true desire to improve our lives in some fashion. So, essentially, it boils down to motivation.

I stick to my story…no New Year’s Resolutions for me.

About trowerteresa

I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Stress Coach in private practice in Jacksonville, Florida. I help clients lower their stress levels and enjoy better health. Check out my course "Reverse Your Pre-Diabetes and Finally Lose the Weight" on Udemy.com

Posted on January 8, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Colleen Newvine Tebeau

    The NPR show The Takeaway did a segment on resolutions around the end of the year, and one of the women they interviewed said she prefers to think of her resolutions as goals.

    Besides your logic about the motivation of where they come from, which makes total sense, she feels people make resolutions in this all-or-nothing format — if my resolution is to lose 20 pounds, if I lose 12, I’m a failure. If it’s a goal, then maybe we do a better job of recognizing progress toward the mark and keep moving toward it.

    In that spirit, I’ve made a number of resolutions but I promise to be gentle with myself if I don’t make it 100 percent. If I make it 80 percent of the way toward a goal, that’s probably about 75 percent more than I would have done without the goal.

  2. Colleen,

    Excellent point!

Leave a Reply

