Lunch Room Blues

I am happy to note that the government is now paying attention to the questionable fare served up to the  youth of our country. I’m not talking about fast food. I’m talking about the school lunchroom. As more and more chronic diseases are related to nutrition, it’s about time that some attention is paid to the quasi-food served to a captive audience of those who don’t, or are unable, to pack their own lunches. When I started teaching, the lunches were both delicious and nutritious. Without aging myself too much, I noticed that  the delicious lunches came to an abrupt halt about the time that President Reagan decided that ketchup was a vegetable. It was downhill from there. By the time I left the school system, it was greasy pizza, fries, and broccoli stalks. Even florets were a rarity.

That being said, the lunchroom ladies did a magnificent job with the slim resources they were given. The bottom line is…our children deserve better. Their bodies are developing. Diseases such as osteoporosis can be traced to the amount of calcium intake consumed during the teenage years. You are what you eat. Let’s feed our kids the best!

About trowerteresa

I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Stress Coach in private practice in Jacksonville, Florida. I help clients lower their stress levels and enjoy better health. Check out my course "Reverse Your Pre-Diabetes and Finally Lose the Weight" on Udemy.com

Posted on December 13, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

