Baby Steps

I am feeling very self-righteous at this moment after 30 minutes on  the eliptical. Although I tout the benefits of exercise for both physical and mental health, I basically hate exercise. As a Diabetes Coach and a Mental Health Counselor, I know that I’m not alone. Finding the motivation to exercise is tough.

What motivated me this morning was a stressful email from my bank about new conditions for free checking. In these economic times, I’m not the only person paying close attention to the effects of the recession on the common man.

 Exercise takes a big bite out of the stress by calming down the central nervous system. Stressors are everywhere. You can’t escape them. But you can chop them down to size. I’m not talking about 30 minutes of exercise. I’m talking about baby steps. If you can’t manage 30 minutes, start with a 10 minute walk. Excuse yourself to go the bathroom and search for a bathroom on another floor. It’s do-able.

Start with baby steps. You’ll notice the difference.

About trowerteresa

I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Stress Coach in private practice in Jacksonville, Florida. I help clients lower their stress levels and enjoy better health. Check out my course "Reverse Your Pre-Diabetes and Finally Lose the Weight" on Udemy.com

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

