Yoga 101

It happened two days ago. I couldn’t remember a friend’s name. The cold grip of terror descended upon me as I struggled to recall her name. My mind was a total blank, except for the one word that I had no problem remembering…dementia.

As a baby boomer who has witnessed the cognitive decline of many of the “greatest generation”, I am ever on red alert for signs of decline.

This was my motivation for attending a yoga class this morning.  (People who exercise are less likely to develop dementia and other cognitive diseases.)

What I did recall during the class is how much I dislike the discomfort that I experience during yoga classes…all that stretching, contorting, and twisting my body into positions that seem totally unnatural. After all, my body prefers reclining.

However, tonight I feel smug and self righteous…and maybe a little smarter.

About trowerteresa

I am a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and Stress Coach in private practice in Jacksonville, Florida. I help clients lower their stress levels and enjoy better health. Check out my course "Reverse Your Pre-Diabetes and Finally Lose the Weight" on Udemy.com

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I liked your dry humor! Was it my name you forgot?? 😦

  2. By the way, very good writing. I enjoyed reading this!

Leave a Reply

